Feeling the Burn

I’m at a work retreat this week on the west coast but I’ve been sticking to my workout routine pretty strictly. It doesn’t seem like too much to call it a workout now that I’m up to 18 pull ups 18 push ups and 18:00 of running. It is enough that my arms still feel tired at the end of the day, which probably speaks more to my lack of strength than to the difficultly of the challenge. Thankfully the hotel has a good gym that I’ve been taking full advantage of.

I even got outside for a run yesterday. We were supposed to go skiing but that outing got cancelled due to high winds. We went to Deep Cove instead – one of my favourite places in Vancouver. It turned out to be a good thing because I realized yesterday that I didn’t bank a run for the 20th and don’t really see an opening in my plans for that day to sneak one in. I opted to run the 2K trail to Quarry Rock instead of hike with everyone else. I made it to the end in 16 minutes (it’s a challenging trail) so had to double back to get my 20 minutes.

It felt great but the consequence was that I was by myself in the rain until everyone else showed up. Luckily I had an amazing view to keep me company.

As a result of all the activity yesterday I was pretty exhausted when I woke up this morning but I had to hit the gym again anyway. The funny thing is that I feel like I have more energy now. It’s all about getting the motor going in the morning, I suppose.

I’m starting to feel the building fatigue of 26 runs in 18 days but my knee is healing up nicely and I get to hike all next week.

To the mountains I go!

Leave a comment