The Banking Rule

As much as I would like to take on this challenge in the purist way possible, I know that I’m going to come up against some obstacles that will get in the way of my being active in the way I want. The first and most obvious obstacle is a camping trip I have planned for the third week of January. As much as I love winter camping, it is not conducive to running.

For that reason – and to accommodate similarly challenging events this year – Paul (the friend who is doing the challenge with me) and I have agreed to what I am calling “The Banking Rule.” Put simply, if we anticipate that there is a day when activity will not be possible for whatever reason, we can perform the activity in advance. This rule also permits rest days if we plan ahead enough.

To accommodate our camping trip, I’ve spent the last two days running doubles on the treadmill. Today I ran not only my four minute for Jan 4, but also did a separate 22 minute run for Jan 22 – a day I will be spending in the woods in waist-deep snow. I plan to bank runs for that entire week, effectively erasing the only “easy” week this challenge could have had.

In related news, I easily did 4 push-ups and struggled through 4 pull-ups this morning. I won’t get any style points for the latter, but they’re done. I also looked up the world record for single set pull-ups and learned it is 236. If I make it to the end of of year, I’ll have to call Guinness.

Leave a comment