Low Hanging PB’s

I honestly never would have guessed that I would love speed training as much as I do. Today was my second Friday in a row running mile repeats at a local track and I am feeling incredibly good right now. Don’t get me wrong, the running is seriously tough. I basically run at the fastest pace I can sustain for 3 laps of the track and then run as fast as my body will let me for the last lap. I do that 5 times with a walking lap in between and by the time I get to the 5th set I am ready for the sweet release of death, until the final 200 meter sprint.

When I run that final burst and completely empty the fuel tank it feels amazing. And the amazing feeling just keeps going. It gives me energy and a positive outlook for the rest of the day. It’s just a really great experience. Even if you hate running, I would recommend interval training just for the drug-like high that follows. Some research has even shown that you can get most of the benefits of longer exercise sessions from regular high-intensity training, so there is that too. I wrote about it more in-depth here: http://healthtoday.com/can-you-get-fit-in-7-minutes-per-week/

Anyway, I’ll keep this one short. Just wanted to share the new PB’s (low-hanging fruit for my second speed day, I know, but still fun) and share my surprise at my running-induced euphoria.

Cheers,

Steve

Leave a comment